

Councillor Stuart Hughes

SENT VIA EMAIL

102 Temple Street Sidmouth Devon EX10 9BJ

Tel: 01395 578414

Fax: 01395 519178

E-mail: stuart.hughes@devon.gov.uk

Date 26 October 2023

Dear Councillors

RE: Proposed Introduction of On-Street Charging Across Devon – Joint Representation from Affected Communities

Further to recent correspondence, I understand the strength of feeling with regards to how parking is managed on-street and that you write also on behalf of Tavistock, Braunton, Crediton, Dartmouth, Honiton and Okehampton.

Whilst I note your points in relation to evidential base and alignment with Section 45 of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984, I disagree. The use of pay & display parking on street is well established nationally. The aim of this review should provide a variety of benefits to traffic management, including congestion / air quality and enforcement. Our Impact Assessment which was presented to Cabinet with our Report highlighted the considerations around that Act and how our Policy aligned with that.

It is not believed that the introduction of any on street charge will impact the viability of businesses or vitality of towns / communities, as has been explained at your meetings there is no correlation in Devon or nationally, the narrative on this is varied and inconclusive.

It is not the intention for the Authority to disregard legislation or the interests of communities. Any scheme Advertised will be progressed through the proper legal process with comments and objections received considered by Cabinet.

It is unfortunate that engagement with representatives from each of your communities has not resulted in mutually agreed schemes.

The intention is to now progress schemes to Advert where the full views of businesses and residents can be considered through the democratic process before decisions to implement or modify any scheme is taken.

Yours sincerely

Councillor Stuart Hughes

Cabinet member for Highway Management

CC:

Councillor Hutton - Mayor Tavistock Town Council

Councillor Debo Sellis - County Councillor Tavistock Division

Councillor Shapland - Chair Braunton Parish Council

Councillor Pru Maskell - County Councillor Braunton Rural Division

Councillor Brookes Hocking - Mayor Crediton Town Council

Councillor Frank Letch – County Councillor Crediton Division

Councillor Wells - Mayer Dartmouth Town Council

Councillor Jonathan Hawkins - County Councillor Dartmouth Division

Councillor Hurford – Mayor Honiton Town Council

Councillor Phil Twiss - County Councillor Feniton and Honiton Division

Councillor Fisher – Mayor Okehampton Town Council

Councillor Lois Samuel - County Councillor Okehampton Rural Division

Meg Booth - Director of Climate Change, Environment & Transport